Paul Scherrer Institut
Paul Scherrer Institut
Paul Scherrer Institut

Paul Scherrer Institut

Research

Villigen PSIVilligen PSI
more than 1000 employeesmore than 1000 employees

Inventions do not happen spontaneously. Working@PSI means turning clever ideas into practical applications. In an international working environment, we work on sustainable solutions for challenges facing society, economy and science. We conduct cutting-edge research in the heart of Aargau and are looking for specialists who can contribute to our work with versatility.

Career starters

Apprentices, "tasters", interns

Career starters

Ready for take-off

Recent graduates, young professionals

Ready for take-off

Masters in their field

Experienced and senior professionals

Masters in their field

New horizons

Re-entering the job market or changing careers

New horizons

Career starters

Apprentices, "tasters", interns

Career starters

We create knowledge – today for tomorrow

The scientific topics being researched at the Paul Scherrer Institute can be summarised in three main fields: Matter and Material, Energy and the Environment, and Human Health. Researchers working on Matter and Materials at PSI explore the properties of a wide variety of materials by identifying how they are made up of small particles inside and how this structure defines the properties of the material. Understanding essential processes in living organisms at the molecular level and developing new methods for diagnosing and treating diseases are the goals of research in the field of Human Health. The Centre for Proton Therapy at PSI treats patients suffering from cancer. The aim of Energy Research at PSI is to develop technologies for sustainable energy use. This includes environmentally friendly energy production, the utilisation of renewable energy sources and low-loss energy storage. PSI also makes new research findings accessible to industry. Swiss companies can thus convert research into innovation.

quote-left
At PSI, highly motivated and inquisitive employees work on the most exciting questions in science and technology.
quote-right

Christian Rüegg, Director of the Paul Scherrer Institute

We are researching the drugs of tomorrow and inventing devices that can be used in cancer therapy.

Visiting scientists

Around 2'400 researchers from all over the world visit us every year.

The large research facilities at PSI are unique

PSI operates several large research facilities where experiments are carried out that are not possible in smaller laboratories. These large research facilities are unique in Switzerland. At the Swiss Light Source (SLS) researchers "illuminate" a wide variety of materials with synchrotron light. This enables them to determine the detailed composition of even the smallest structures down to nano size. The ultra-short X-ray laser pulses of the X-ray free-electron laser SwissFEL, the latest research facility, turn processes in the smallest detail into films: they enable researchers to observe ultra-fast processes.

At the Swiss Spallation Neutron Source SINQ, neutron beams are used to investigate new materials, e.g. for superconductors or computer memories, but also to examine metals so that one can look inside an engine or a bronze bust. At the Muon Source SμS at PSI, muons are mainly used to determine magnetic fields inside materials. Our research facilities with a unique infrastructure, combined with the technical skills within our manufacturing workshops and our specialists' knowledge, make PSI a sustainable partner in research and industry.

Aerial view of the Swiss Light Source SLS as a large "Willisauer Ringli".
Latest research facility: View into the beam tunnel of the X-ray free-electron laser SwissFEL.

Employees and activities (basis: 2019)

PSI staff
2'100
Employees in technical or engineering professions48%
Scientists39%
Employees in administration8%
Apprentices5%
PSI employees with teaching duties at both ETH and universities100
Experiments at measuring stations for external scientists2'400
Published scientific articles per year1'400
Cancer proton therapy treatments at the Centre for Proton Therapy
5'500

Equal Opportunities and Diversity

At PSI we live diversity and see diversity as a value. We are proud that people from different backgrounds and with different skills work together on our campus with the necessary mutual respect. As a federal institution we are aware of our social responsibility and act in an exemplary manner in terms of equal opportunities and inclusion. We are proud to have been awarded the label Friendly Work Space. In order to maintain this claim, we invest in a respectful work culture without stereotypes and prejudices.

We cultivate and promote a culture of continuing education among all employees and managers. We support the topic of compatibility of family and career with various support programmes. In vocational training in particular, we want to increasingly promote the recruitment of people with disabilities. We want to fill more positions with women, and to this end we invest specifically in the career advancement of women. At PSI, we live diversity and claim to be known and recognised for a serious inclusion policy.

With the Diversity Award for managers PSI honours the promotion of equal opportunities.

Und was sagen die Mitarbeitenden?

zum mitarbeiterpuls

Training is a key issue for us

Our success is based on the performance and motivation of our employees. We create a framework that allows for ideal promotion and high job satisfaction. For PSI, the most important capital are the outstanding qualifications, experience and motivation of our employees. 25% of our jobs are training positions. It is of great interest to us that all employees can fully exploit their potential and develop their skills. Continuous further training in the institute is not only a matter of course for us, but also part of the culture we live in. Furthermore, PSI encourages and supports the acquisition of additional qualifications and further training in new tasks and functions.

PSI employees' development ist promoted by over 220 attractive course offers.

Your apprenticeship at the Paul Scherrer Institute

You can choose from 15 future-orientated professions. Our qualified vocational trainers and supervisors on the rotation positions look forward to accompanying you through your aprrenticeship. Vocational training at the Paul Scherrer Institute takes place in a high-tech environment in which you will be trained on real assignments wherever possible. Our research is positioned at a high level. In the same way, we want our vocational training to be among the best. Thanks to the high quality standard of PSI training, our apprentices often complete their apprenticeship with good to very good results. The versatile work in our institute allows us to train apprentices in various professions. At PSI we are currently training around 100 apprentices in 15 different professions. With your commitment and our support, the path is clear for a comprehensive, successful and future-oriented vocational training. Are you up for it?

"Lehrberufe à la carte": At the career show, apprentices present the fifteen professions trained at PSI.

Work-life balance – Childcare at PSI

The Kiwi daycare centre offers space to live, play and evolve for kids until the end of primary school, in which social skills and independence are fostered. The necessary framework is created by professional care. Every child shall be cared for individually, comprehensively and in an age-appropriate manner. We want your child to feel comfortable and to enjoy being with us, so that you can entrust it to us with peace of mind. Kita Kiwi is open to children from the age of three months until they start school. We offer all-day care from 7:30 to 18:00, including lunch.

Childcare

quote-left
We care for each child individually, appropriately to its age and with all our heart.
quote-right

Simone Brunner, Head of Kiwi

At Kita Kiwi, children are professionally looked after from the age of three months until the end of primary school.

Catering at PSI

Over 1'000 meals are conjured up daily from the pots of our catering facilities.

Great opportunities and things do in the area around our company

Catering facilities at PSI

Employee tip

Catering facilities at PSI

Freshly prepared every day: choice of menus, salad buffet, warm buffet and patisserie.

Catering facilities at PSI
Sportclub PSI

Employee tip

Sportclub PSI

Whether it's yoga or jogging over lunch, treating yourself to a massage, playing tennis or organising a board game contest after work: employees benefit from Sportclub PSI with over 30 activities.

Sportclub PSI
Mobility at PSI

Employee tip

Mobility at PSI

As big as a village and yet a pedestrian zone: being mobile at PSI with scooters, post buses, electric or mobility vehicles, on foot or with 200 rental bikes from Velospot, which can also be used privately.

Mobility at PSI
High tech surrounded by pure nature

Employee tip

High tech surrounded by pure nature

70% of the PSI site is designed in harmony with nature. For these efforts, the research institute was awarded the quality label of the Foundation “Natur & Wirtschaft” for the third time.

High tech surrounded by pure nature
Vindonissa

Families | Culture

Vindonissa

Vindonissa, located in what is today called Windisch, was an important Roman legion's camp. The ruins of the camp are open for viewing. The monastery church of Königsfelden, which is well known for its unique glass windows (that date back to the 14th century), is located in the middle of these ruins.

Railway Park

Culture

Railway Park

In the oldest railway depot of Central Switzerland, visitors experience railway history in a small but lively railway museum.

Paul Scherrer Institut

Forschungsstrasse 111

5232 Villigen PSI

+41 (0)56 310 46 30

Paul Scherrer Institut
Paul Scherrer Institut
Paul Scherrer Institut

Paul Scherrer Institut

Forschung

Villigen PSIVilligen PSI
mehr als 1000 Mitarbeitendemehr als 1000 Mitarbeitende

Erfindungen passieren nicht spontan. Working@PSI heisst, kluge Ideen in praktische Anwendungen umzusetzen. Im internationalen Arbeitsumfeld erforschen wir nachhaltige Lösungen für Fragen aus Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft. Wir betreiben Spitzenforschung mitten im Aargau und suchen Fachkräfte, die sich vielfältig in die Arbeit einbringen.

Vorteile auf einen Blick

Einstieg

Auszubildende, "Schnuppernde“, Praktikanten

Einstieg

Startklar

Berufseinsteiger, Young Professionals

Startklar

Voll im Schuss

Berufserfahrene, Senior Professionals

Voll im Schuss

Zu neuen Ufern

Wieder- und Quereinsteiger

Zu neuen Ufern

Einstieg

Auszubildende, "Schnuppernde“, Praktikanten

Einstieg

Wer sind wir

Wir schaffen Wissen – heute für morgen

Die wissenschaftlichen Themen, die am Paul Scherrer Institut erforscht werden, lassen sich in drei grossen Themengruppen zusammenfassen: Materie und Material, Energie und Umwelt sowie Mensch und Gesundheit. For­schende, die sich am PSI mit Materie und Material befassen, ergründen die Eigen­schaf­ten unter­schied­lich­ster Mate­rialien, indem sie be­stimmen, wie diese im Inneren aus klei­nen Teil­chen aufgebaut sind und wie dieser Aufbau die Eigenschaften des Materials definiert. Wesent­liche Vor­gänge in leben­den Orga­nismen auf mole­kularer Ebene zu verste­hen und neue Metho­den zur Diag­nose und Behandlung von Krank­heiten zu entwickeln, sind Ziele der Forschung auf dem Gebiet Mensch und Gesundheit. Im Zentrum für Protonentherapie am PSI werden an Krebs erkrankte Patienten behandelt. Ziel der Energieforschung am PSI ist es, Technologien für eine nachhaltige Energienutzung zu entwickeln. Dazu gehören eine umwelt­freund­liche Energie­erzeugung, der Einsatz erneuerbarer Energie­quellen und verlustarme Energie­speicherung. Das PSI macht neue Forschungserkenntnisse auch der Wirtschaft zugänglich. Schweizer Unternehmen können somit Forschung in Innovation umsetzen.

quote-left
Am PSI arbeiten hoch motivierte und neugierige Mitarbeitende an den spannendsten Fragen aus Wissenschaft und Technik.
quote-right

Christian Rüegg, Direktor des Paul Scherrer Instituts

Wir forschen an Medikamenten von morgen und erfinden Geräte, die in der Krebstherapie eingesetzt werden.

Gastwissenschaftlerin – Gastwissenschaftler

Jährlich besuchen uns rund 2'400 Forschende aus der ganzen Welt.

Die Grossforschungsanlagen am PSI sind einzigartig

Das PSI betreibt mehrere Grossforschungsanlagen, an denen Experimente durchgeführt werden, die in kleineren Laboratorien nicht möglich sind. In der Schweiz sind diese Grossanlagen einzigartig. Mit Synchrotronlicht «durchleuchten» Forschende an der Synchrotron Lichtquelle Schweiz SLS unterschiedlichste Materialien. So können sie den detaillierten Aufbau kleinster Strukturen bis auf Nanogrösse bestimmen. Die ultrakurzen Röntgenpulse des Freie-Elektronen-Röntgenlaser SwissFEL als jüngste Forschungsanlage machen die Vorgänge im Kleinsten zum Film: Mit ihnen können Forschende ultraschnell ablaufende Prozesse beobachten.

An der Schweizer Spallations-Neutronenquelle SINQ werden mit Neutronen neue Materialien, z. B. für Supraleiter oder Computerspeicher untersucht, aber auch Metalle durchleuchtet, sodass man in das Innere eines Motors oder einer Bronzebüste schauen kann. Myonen werden an der Myonenquelle SμS am PSI vor allem dazu genutzt, Magnetfelder im Inneren von Materialien zu bestimmen. Unsere Forschungsanlagen mit einzigartiger Infrastruktur, kombiniert mit den technischen Fertigkeiten unserer Werkstätten und dem Wissen der Spezialisten machen das PSI zu einem nachhaltigen Partner in Forschung und Industrie.

Flugansicht der Synchrotron Lichtquelle Schweiz SLS als grosses "Willisauer Ringli".
Jüngste Forschungsanlage: Blick in den Strahlkanal im Freie-Elektronen-Röntgenlaser SwissFEL.

Mitarbeitende und Aktivitäten (Basis: 2019)

Anzahl Mitarbeitende am PSI
2'100
Mitarbeitende in technischen oder Ingenieurberufen48 %
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeitende 39 %
Mitarbeitende in der Administration8 %
Lernende
5 %
PSI-Mitarbeitende mit Lehrverpflichtungen an Hoch-/Fachhochschulen100
Externe Nutzer der 38 Experimentierstationen2'400
Jährliche Anzahl wissenschaftlicher Publikationen1'400
Krebs-Bestrahlungsbehandlungen am Zentrum für Protonentherapie
5'500

Chancengleichheit und Diversität

Am PSI leben wir Vielfalt und sehen Diversität als Wert. Wir sind stolz darauf, dass auf unserem Campus Menschen mit den unterschiedlichsten Hintergründen und Kompetenzen mit dem nötigen gegenseitigen Respekt miteinander arbeiten. Als bundesnaher Betrieb nehmen wir unsere gesellschaftliche Verantwortung wahr und verhalten uns vorbildlich in Sachen Chancengerechtigkeit und Inklusion. Wir sind stolz darauf, mit dem Label Friendly Work Space ausgezeichnet worden zu sein. Um diesen Anspruch zu halten, investieren wir in eine respektvolle Arbeitskultur ohne Stereotypen und Vorurteile.

Wir pflegen und fördern eine Weiterbildungskultur bei allen Mitarbeitenden und Führungskräften. Beim Thema Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Karriere unterstützen wir mit diversen Förderprogrammen. Insbesondere in der Berufsbildung wollen wir die Einstellung von Menschen mit Beeinträchtigung vermehrt fördern. Wir wollen mehr Positionen mit Frauen besetzen, dafür investieren wir gezielt in die Karriereförderung von Frauen. Am PSI leben wir Diversität und haben den Anspruch, für eine ernst gemeinte Inklusionspolitik bekannt und anerkannt zu sein.

Mit dem Diversity Award für Führungskräfte zeichnet das PSI die Förderung von Chancengleichheit aus.

Und was sagen die Mitarbeitenden?

zum Mitarbeiterpuls

Was bieten wir

Ausbildung ist für uns ein zentrales Thema

Unser Erfolg beruht auf der Leistungsfähigkeit und Motivation unserer Mitarbeitenden. Wir schaffen Rahmenbedingungen, die eine ideale Förderung und hohe Zufriedenheit am Arbeitsplatz ermöglichen. Für das PSI besteht das wichtigste Kapital aus einer herausragenden Qualifikation, Erfahrung und Motivation der Mitarbeitenden. 25% unserer Arbeitsplätze sind Ausbildungsstellen. Für uns ist es von grossem Interesse, dass alle Mitarbeitenden ihr Potenzial voll ausschöpfen und sich weiterentwickeln können. Eine ständige Weiterbildung im Wissenschaftsbetrieb ist für uns nicht nur eine Selbstverständlichkeit, sondern auch Teil der gelebten Kultur. Darüber hinaus fördert und unterstützt das PSI den Erwerb zusätzlicher Qualifikationen und die Weiterbildung in neuen Aufgaben und Funktionen.

PSI-Mitarbeitende werden durch über 220 attraktive Kursangebote gefördert.

Deine Lehre am Paul Scherrer Institut

Es stehen dir 15 zukunftsorientierte Berufe zur Auswahl. Unsere qualifizierten Berufsbildenden sowie Fachbetreuende auf den Rotationsplätzen freuen sich darauf, dich durch deine Ausbildung zu begleiten. Die Berufsausbildung am Paul Scherrer Institut findet in einer Hightech-Umgebung statt, in der du möglichst an echten Aufträgen ausgebildet wirst. Unsere Forschung positioniert sich auf hohem Niveau. Genauso möchten wir mit unserer Berufsbildung zu den Besten gehören. Der hohe Qualitätsstandard der PSI-Ausbildung zeigt sich insbesondere darin, dass unsere Lernenden oft mit guten bis sehr guten Resultaten ihre Ausbildung abschliessen. Die vielseitigen Arbeiten in unserem Institut erlauben es uns, Lernende in verschiedentlichen Berufen auszubilden. Derzeit bilden wir am PSI rund 100 Lernende in 15 Lehrberufen aus. Mit deinem Einsatz und unserer Unterstützung steht einer ganzheitlichen, erfolgreichen und zukunftsorientierten Ausbildung nichts mehr im Weg. Bist du dabei?

Lehrberufe à la carte: An der Berufsshow stellen Lernende ihre fünfzehn Berufe vor.

Work-Life-Balance – Kinderbetreuung am PSI

Die Kindertagesstätte Kiwi bietet Spiel-, Frei- und Lebensräume für Kinder bis Ende der Primarschule, in denen die sozialen Fähigkeiten und die Selbständigkeit gefördert werden. Die dafür nötigen Rahmenbedingungen werden durch professionelle Betreuung geschaffen. So soll jedes Kind individuell, umfassend und altersgerecht betreut werden. Wir wollen, dass Ihr Kind sich bei uns wohlfühlt und es ihm bei uns gefällt, damit Sie es uns beruhigt anvertrauen können. Die Kita Kiwi steht Kindern ab einem Alter von drei Monaten bis zum Schuleintritt offen. Wir bieten eine Ganztagesbetreuung von 7.30 bis 18.00 Uhr einschliesslich Mittagsverpflegung an.

Kinderbetreuung

quote-left
Bei uns wird jedes Kind individuell, altersgerecht und mit viel Herz betreut.
quote-right

Simone Brunner, Leiterin Kiwi

In der Kita Kiwi werden Kinder ab dem Alter von drei Monaten bis Ende der Primarschule professionell betreut.

Gastronomie am PSI

Aus den Töpfen unserer Gastronomiebetriebe werden täglich über 1'000 Mahlzeiten gezaubert.

Lebenswert

Attraktive Angebote und Erlebnisse im Umkreis unseres Unternehmens

Gastronomiebetriebe am PSI

Mitarbeitertipp

Gastronomiebetriebe am PSI

Täglich frisch zubereitet: Menüangebot, Salatbuffet, warmes Buffet und Patisserie.

Gastronomiebetriebe am PSI
Sportclub PSI

Mitarbeitertipp

Sportclub PSI

Egal ob Yoga oder Joggen über Mittag, sich eine Massage gönnen, Tennis spielen oder einen Brettspielcontest nach Feierabend veranstalten: Mitarbeitende profitieren vom Sportclub PSI mit über 30 Aktivitäten.

Sportclub PSI
Mobilität am PSI

Mitarbeitertipp

Mobilität am PSI

So gross wie ein Dorf und doch eine Fussgängerzone: Mobil am PSI zu sein mit Trottinett, Postauto, Elektro- oder Mobility-Fahrzeugen, zu Fuss oder mit 200 Mietvelos an Velospots, welche Ihnen auch privat zur Verfügung stehen.

Mobilität am PSI
Hightech umgeben von Natur pur

Mitarbeitertipp

Hightech umgeben von Natur pur

70 % Prozent des PSI-Areals sind naturnah gestaltet. Für diese Bemühungen wurde der Forschungscampus bereits zum dritten Mal mit dem Qualitätslabel der Stiftung Natur & Wirtschaft ausgezeichnet.

Hightech umgeben von Natur pur

Kinderbetreuung

Kindertagesstätte Kiwi PSI

ANAXAM

Start-up- und Innovationsförderung

ANAXAM

Angewandte Materialanalytik mittels Neutronen- und Röntgenstrahlung

Jobs

Kontakt

Paul Scherrer Institut

Forschungsstrasse 111

5232 Villigen PSI

+41 (0)56 310 46 30